Cranberry Kale Salad with Lemon Dijon Dressing

So, I really love salads. And not those wimpy barely-nutritious-colorless-leaves-dripping-in-some-boring-dressing salads you choke down because you feel obligated to. I’m talkin’ fresh, colorful, satisfying and sustaining, veggie dishes boasting lots of exciting flavors and textures.

For the record, there are LOTS of non-salad foods that we vegetarians eat. :) I understand that a vegetarian eating salads is a little cliche.

Anyway, I hope you like this one. I make this or a version of this at least a couple times a week for lunch. Kale is unique in that you can dress it in the morning or the night before, and it’s still crispy for lunch much later!

Also, feel free to change up the veggies according to what you have on hand.

Ingredients

Serves one as an entree, or two as a side

  • 3-4 cups fresh kale, washed and chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped cauliflower
  • 1/2 cup chopped broccoli
  • 1/2 ripe avocado, chopped
  • 1 tbs diced red onion
  • 2 tbs dried cranberries
  • 2-3 tbs parmesan cheese (omit for a vegan option. Goat cheese, sharp white cheddar, or feta would work well too)
  • 1 tbs extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbs lemon juice
  • 1 tbs dijon mustard (either smooth ground or whole grain)
  • lots of freshly milled black pepper

Directions

Chop up the veggies. Mix them in a large bowl with the cranberries and cheese. Toss in the dressing ingredients (olive oil, lemon juice, and mustard). Top with black pepper. You could also mix the dressing ingredients separately, but I’m usually a little too lazy to do that…


I hope you enjoy this one as much as I have!

 

14 responses

    • Ooh I love kale raw!! Actually I like it a lot better raw than cooked. It tastes more…earthy, maybe. Plus I just love it’s texture when raw! But sauteeing the kale and cauliflower is an excellent idea! Thanks Sophie! I’ll have to try it. :)

    • Yay, I’m so glad you like it. :) I love the Dino kale too. Green curly kale (this kind) is a little stronger tasting I think, with a much different texture obviously, but I love it! Let me know what you think if you try it! This salad will work beautifully with Dino kale as well. :) thanks so much or stopping by!

  1. this reminds me of the superfood salad. i never much liked raw kale, but i’ve found with the right dressing and if you do let it sit as you mentioned, some of the bitterness goes away. serve it with a lemon vinaigrette and some blueberries and cashews, too. YUM!

    • That’s a great idea! Thanks Audrey! For some reason, kale is one of the few greens that I love love love raw and even plain. Th bitterness of others (esp spinach, arugula, and collards) makes me gag! So I just trick myself into eating those. ;) thanks for stopping by!

      • that’s so great you like to eat the kale raw… if it’s saturated and has been sitting or even just slightly blanched beforehand, i can eat it. but it’s just too bitter otherwise. our palates are so interesting! thanks for all the catching up you’ve been doing :)

  2. I love dinosaur kale, and I especially love baby red russian kale in salads, but I’ve always found I prefer the leaves after they’ve been given a very brief blanching to soften them up. Otherwise, I’ll take your salad as it stands. Thanks. Ken

  3. I love dinosaur kale, and I especially love baby red russian kale in salads, but I find the texture a little too chewy without a very brief blanching. I’ll take the rest of the salad as it stands. Thanks. Ken

    • That’s a great idea! I am pretty much obsessed with roasted cauliflower. Too many raw veggies definitely make me sick, so I can empathize with your fear! :) that’s actually why I added the avocado-I’ve found that if you add healthy fats to your raw veggies (and not eating too much!) its easier on the tummy. :) hope that helps! Thanks so much for stopping by, Amy! Great to have you.

Leave a Reply

