Mediterranean Savory Oatmeal

Image

There are times when nothing less than a savory, satisfying, umami breakfast will do. Yet I also have this undying devotion to all things oats.

Enter savory oatmeal.

Image

I’ve made many varieties of savory oats, but this one is my favorite by far. Full of salty, briny flavor from the kalamata olives, capers, and sun-dried tomatoes, this dish is high in sustaining energy from fiber and protein too! The recipe is pretty customizable too — feel free to add in any veggies like mushrooms or spinach, smear with a sauce like pesto or mustard, toss in some feta or parmesan, or fresh herbs…you get the idea!

A quick note about eggs: I eat an egg or two most days, and so I make sure to get the good ones. I highly recommend eggs that are pasture-raised (better than “cage free”), free range, organic, vegetarian-fed, antibiotic-free and hormone-free.

Image

Ingredients

Makes 1 generous serving

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats (I use thick-cut oats)
  • 1 cup water or vegetable broth
  • 1 small clove garlic, minced or put through a press
  • 1 tbs diced onion or shallot
  • 1/2 tsp dried herbs (I used an Herbes de Provence blend)
  • salt to taste (be generous. Oats can be bland)
  • 2 eggs, cooked as you prefer (I like them over-medium)
  • 1 tsp capers
  • 2 tbs sundried tomatoes (either dried or oil-packed will work)
  • 1 tbs chopped kalamata olives
  • 1 tbs green onions, chopped
  • freshly ground pepper to taste
  • drizzle of olive oil

Directions

For the oatmeal: combine first 6 ingredients in a small saucepan. Bring water to boil, then reduce heat, cover, and let simmer for about 10 minutes until water is absorbed and oats are soft.

Cook the eggs as you like. I like them poached or over-medium, but hard-cooked, scrambled, fried, or really any other way would work too.

Place oats into a serving dish, add the eggs and top with the olives, capers, sundried tomatoes, green onions, pepper, olive oil, and any extra add-ins you prefer.

Image

Enjoy!

7 responses

  1. Savory oatmeal! Great idea Becca. Lovely combination of flavor and texture. Haven’t ever seen oatmeal cooked this way, but it makes perfect sense to treat it like other grains. Looking forward to giving it a try.

  2. I’m very excited about trying this! Breakfast is the most difficult meal of the day for me because my body doesn’t respond well to dairy and I’ve found I like my breakfasts savory as well. Alas, I cannot eat bacon everyday, so I need to find a low-maintenance alternative. :-) Also, thanks for teaching me the word “umami.” LOL!

    • Thanks Summer! I totally hear you on the savory breakfasts – there are so many days were something sweet (even if its healthy) just won’t cut it. I hope you like this one! I’d love to hear what you think if you do try it. You could also sub quinoa or rice for the oats if you already have that on hand. Ha, and now you know a fancy new Japanese word to describe it! ;) Thanks for your comments Summer! :)

Leave a Reply

