Chia Seed Crackers

Perhaps you’ve seen chia seeds in energy bars or health food stores. Chia seeds are an excellent source of soluble fiber and vitamins and minerals. They plump up a lot when soaked in water (they form this gelatinous halo), so they’re great as natural thickeners in smoothies, puddings, or as “glue” as they are here! These crackers are inspired by the roasted pumpkin seeds my wonderful mother made for us as kids…she would roast seeds from pumpkin or squash in soy sauce and I remember just loving them.

The Native Americans, Mayans, Incas, and Aztecs, I’m told, used chia seeds as an important dietary staple, and to fuel long hunting expeditions.

These crackers are inspired by the roasted pumpkin seeds my wonderful mother made for us as kids…she would roast seeds from pumpkin or squash in soy sauce and I remember just loving them. These crackers provide great sustaining energy!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup chia seeds
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds or pepitas, raw
  • 1/2 cup sesame seeds
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds, raw
  • 1/3 cup low sodium soy sauce (or gluten-free sauce)
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 3 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 2 tsp dehydrated onion flakes
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Directions

Preheat oven to 450 F.

Mix all the seeds in a bowl.

Then add the soy sauce, water, garlic, salt, and onion flakes.

Spread the mixture out on a greased baking sheet. I just smoosh it with my hands until it is thin enough — a rolling pin won’t work. I like them somewhere between 1/8 and 1/4 inch thick.

Bake for about 15-20 minutes, until they start looking drier. Pull them out and cut the into your desired shapes with a rolling pin. Return to the oven and bake for another 15-20 until they look browned. I find the crackers around the edges burn quickly, so I’ll usually pull those out when they’re done and let the rest bake.

I’m sure you could use any variety of seasonings you like. Have fun with it!

6 responses

  1. Wow – Becca – these look awesome! I am going to have to try these for sure as I have been looking for a good cracker. Glad you’ve been stopping by the IPOM blog – so happy to have you and I am happy to follow you too (now that I had a chance to get over here!)! Your blog is awesome, love all the recipes!

  2. Pingback: 1 Min. Chocolate Chia Pudding | Becca's Green Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Lemon Dill Chia Crackers | Becca's Green Kitchen

  4. HI Becca, I just wanted to let you know that this recipe’s been a success at home and with my co-workers. One of them is gluten-free and was extra happy about them. This is definitely a recipe we’ll all return to often! Thanks for sharing your recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

