Baked Zucchini Fries

A healthier and more flavorful alternative to fried zucchini, and french fries! And yes, they taste great with ketchup. πŸ™‚

 

For another delicious use of this batter, see my post on Crispy Tofu Strips.

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat breadcrumbs
  • 3 medium zucchini

And for the batter:

  • 1/4 cup your choice of milk
  • 2 tbs whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp dried parsley
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder (optional)
  • 1 tbs red wine vinegar
  • 1 tbs dijon mustard (fine ground)
  • 1/8 tsp pepper, or to taste

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 F. Cut zucchini lengthwise, and into strips. Put the breadcrumbs in one wide shallow bowl, and whisk together the batter ingredients in another.

Dip each zucchini strip into the batter first (so that it is completely covered) and then into the breadcrumbs. Place on a greased baking sheet, and bake until the breadcrumbs are golden and crispy.

Of course, serve with your favorite dip. πŸ™‚

2 responses

  1. Thanks for answering my “plea for help” the other day! I’ve been exploring lots of recipes and they look great. This one really intrigues me. I’ve decided I need to make all this yummy vegan-ness a regular part of my life. Not that I’m ready to swear off meat and dairy forever. But I’m definitely committed to more veggies and less…. misc “stuff.” Thanks again!

    • You’re so welcome! πŸ™‚ I’m with you about the salads – vegetables are great but sometimes you just need food. If you end up making anything, let me know how it works out for you! I’m only vegan about 90% of th time (what is life without cheese? πŸ˜‰ ), I find it so nurturing to fill up on wholesome, plant foods! Good luck! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

