3 Seed Overnight Oats

Sometimes I get overly excited about how much health you can cram into one meal. 🙂 This one features an old-time favorite ingredient of mine, hemp seeds.

They are normally kind of expensive, so you can imagine my excitement at finding them half price at Whole Foods Market. They are high in Omega-3 fats, protein, fiber, vitamins, minerals…they’ve got it all. And a super unique taste.

Overnight oats typically require 1 part oats, 1 part yogurt, and 1 part milk. But I find it works well without the yogurt, and with vegan milk. I use almond milk here.

Such a quick, filling, and nutritious breakfast!

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup whole rolled oats
  • 1/4 cooked quinoa (optional)
  • 1 tbs hemp seeds
  • 1 tbs chia seeds
  • 1 tbs ground flaxseed
  • 1 tbs oat bran
  • 2/3-1 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 cup yogurt of choice (optional)

Directions

Just mix everything in a bowl, and wait til morning! Top with whatever you like — fruit, nut butter or nuts, granola, dried fruit, cinnamon, maple syrup or honey, etc. This makes one hearty serving (or two smaller ones), and is best served with coffee. 🙂

9 responses

  1. Yes, I think we are definitely kindred spirits– oatmeal with blackstrap molasses, cinnamon, and either hemp or flax seeds are my morning ritual. I’m going to start trying cold versions for summer soon, so I’ll have to come back to this!

    • Haha, yes! I thought I was the only one obsessed with oats, cinnamon, and flax. 🙂 I think hot oatmeal may beat out overnight oats in my book, but I do like the creaminess/change of texture sometimes. I’ll have to try it with molasses! I like how you think. 🙂

    • Ooh, you should definitely try them. They do have a pretty distinct flavor…at first I had to let it grow on me, but now I love ’em! Their taste actually reminds me of quinoa, but stronger and more nutty/earthy/tangy. If you don’t like them, you can always drown them with cinnamon and maple syrup…that should do the trick 😉

  2. Pingback: 1 Min. Chocolate Chia Pudding | Becca's Green Kitchen

Leave a Reply

