Ginger Hemp Granola

Granola is a love language. I’m convinced. When my husband and I were dating, I would bake him granola from time to time (usually this recipe). I love giving granola as gifts, and I also just loving making it! I’ve made all sorts of granolas, and this one is my favorite  of all time.

Thanks for bearing with my recipe sentimentality. Here you go, a Becca classic and my quintessential favorite granola. 🙂

Ingredients

4 cups whole rolled oats
1/4 cup oat bran (optional)
1/3 cup agave nectar (or honey)
3 tbs oil (or less. You can even get away with no oil at all, though the final product will be just a little dry)
2 tbs ground ginger
1/4 cup hemp seeds
1 heaping cup ginger chunks (crystallized or not, sweetened or not)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Mix the oats, optional oat bran, agave nectar, ground ginger, and optional oil, until everything is evenly coated. This can take a little while. Spread onto a baking sheet and bake until brown around the edges, about 7-10 minutes. Remove from oven, flip the oats with a spatula, and bake for another 7-10 minutes.

Meanwhile, dice the ginger chunks. Feel free to increase/decrease the ginger amounts!

While the granola is cooling, add the hemp seeds and ginger chunks. When it is cool and crunchy, mix together and store in a sealed container. NOTE: don’t put it in a sealed container until it is competely cooled, or the oats will “sweat” and it will get soggy.

Mmm, now enjoy! I hope you like this one as much as I have!

9 responses

  1. Yum! I would love to try this one. I love making homemade granola– it’s such a bargain compared to store bought. Here’s my favorite granola recipe: http://nicolegeurin.wordpress.com/2010/12/22/nicoles-healthy-homemade-granola/

    Also… this may sound weird but I have stopped baking my granola. It saves time, and I like it even better uncooked. The oil and honey seem to soften the oats enough to make them digestible. Does anyone else do this?

    • Thanks for sharing your recipe! Definitely will have to try that. I just love baking granola!! I’ve never thought of not baking it, but now that you mention it, I do tend to “taste test” a LOT when it’s raw…;)

    • Thanks! 🙂 Hemp is so healthy…they have a lot of “biologically available” (easy to digest) protein, and are one of the few plant sources of complete (10 amino acids) protein. They have a really healthy ratio of omega-6 to omega-3 fats, and contain a type of omega 6 that is easier for your body to use. And they have fiber, a lot of phytonutrients (non-vitamin compounds that are really good for you), and minerals like zinc and phosphorous. 🙂

Leave a Reply

