Spelt & Flax Crackers

You may have noticed I’ve been on a spelt kick as of late. It might have something to do with the 6 pound bag of spelt flour I got at a bulk bin sale. πŸ˜‰ My spelt adventures so far have included a quickbread, a pizza crust, and, most recently, pancakes! So it’s only natural that crackers would be next.

I love how these turned out. Very nutty and hearty, they’ve been good with just about every spread, dip, or topping I’ve tried them with! And, best of all, they’re easy to toss together, easy to roll out, and relatively quick to bake.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cup spelt four
  • 2 tbs flaxseed meal
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • 1/4 cup water

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 F.

Mix all the dry ingredients. Make a well in the center and mix in wet ingredients. If it’s a little dry, add a little more water until it forms a ball of dough.

With a rolling pin, roll out the dough until it reaches your desired thickness, and cut into desired shape with a pizza cutter or cookie cutter.

Place the crackers on a greased baking sheet and prick them with a fork. Bake at 400 F until golden brown around the edges, about 15 minutes (by my oven, at least! I’m starting to question the accuracy of my oven temp though…so maybe you’ll want to keep an eye on them…)

Allow to cool and enjoy with your favorite cracker toppings! They pair wonderfully with peanut butter.

14 responses

  1. My kids practically live off of crackers and so I’ve been thinking of trying to make my own and now I think I’ve found the perfect recipe to give it a try! I’ll let you know how they turn out!

    • Great, I hope this is one they like. πŸ™‚ Let me know how it goes! Homemade crackers are so much cheaper and healthier than store bought. You could even make them into fun shapes with cookie cutters!

      • I was really surprised how easy they were to make! I didn’t have any flaxseed meal on hand (I used it up for banana-bran-flax muffins I made the other day!), so I used kamut flour instead of the ground flaxseeds and they were really tasty! My son enjoyed them, but my two girls did not. Still, I am determined to get them to eat these and will no longer be purchasing crackers. I’ll be posting this recipe on my blog soon!

        • Kamut flour is brilliant! I’ll have to try that when you post that recipe. (And if you haven’t already, you should post that banana flax muffin recipe! Yum!) I’m glad your son liked them! Your girls will come around. πŸ™‚ I’m glad they worked out for you! πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Project Seedlings | Eat Pray Bake

  3. Becca,
    I’m not at all used to posting comments on email, so I don’t even know if my first attempt went through or not, but this much is sure: I’ve finally found the website and some really interesting spelt recipes with it.

    It’s a lower pH flour, high in minerals, the ideal flour for wholegrain cakes. By trial and error or research, you’ve used it at the classic rate of 1.25 cup spelt analagous to 1 cup triticum wheat, rye or barley as far as water absorption rates go. I’ve also found it to have a typical baking powder requirement of 1 teaspoon per cup for biscuit high breadstuff. Skillet breads are sufficiently leavened with half has much.

    It is very interesting and smart to have mixed spelt with flaxseed to make cracker dough because it is the flaxseed that has given this healthy and attractive recipe its cracker bite. The recipe ought to receive plenty of congralutions on all counts becaue the flax and the spelt are sufficient means to make good crackers without lots of shortening,

    I love it,
    Mary

    • Hi Mary! Thanks for stopping by. I’m so glad you found me too! If you’d like, you can enter your email where it says “follow” to the side, and receive my recipes by email as I post them.

      Thanks for the info! I’m glad the proportions and ingredients are correct — it was almost entirely an accident! πŸ™‚ I just noticed that most cracker recipes used that baking powder/flour ratio, and I did hear that you should use 1.25 cups spelt for every 1 cup wheat. And I was excited the cracker texture worked with the flaxseed! That was also an accident — I just like the nutty earthy flavors of both flax and spelt, so I love combining them.

      I’m so glad you like the recipe! I always love getting feedback. πŸ™‚ Thanks again for checking my site out!

  4. Hi Becca!
    Spelt is low PH, high mineral, good flower for athletes and full-stop. It’s a whole food cake flower rendering moist crust and crumb, but requiring little shortening to do it. You used it in the ideal ratio between flower and water. The baking powder rate is close to perfection, but what’s really exciting about this recipe is the use of flax seed to render cracker bite!

  5. Pingback: Lunchbox Salad: Apple, Cheddar, and Kale Salad for One | Becca's Green Kitchen

  6. Pingback: Quick ‘n’ Easy Creamy Broccoli Potato Leek Soup | Becca's Green Kitchen

Leave a Reply

