Mango Spinach Smoothie + Blog Award Nomination!

Another green smoothie for you. The other day I woke up craving this so much, that I walked all the way to the grocery store to get bananas and mangoes, even before my morning coffee. True story.

My point — this is a good one. 🙂

But first, the Food Stories Blog Award Nomination! Erin at Recimplicity kindly nominated me for this award. Thanks Erin! If you haven’t checked out her blog, you really should! She posts the best recipes – healthy, simple, fresh, and doable! She gave me the idea to add quinoa to my oatmeal and I’ve been doing that since. She also has some exercise ideas posted — ones that don’t require a million steps. Great blog!

According to the contest rules, here’s a random fact about me. I love reading Aristotle. And Plato, and Seneca…actually, all the Ancient Greek philosophers. That might label me as a nerd but that’s what I do in my free time…when I’m not cooking, running, at yoga class or outside, that is. 🙂

The blogs I nominate are:
In Pursuit of More
Food and Foto
Simply Dish
Things My Belly Likes
Food Life Passion

Ingredients

  • 3-4 cups spinach, kale, or both
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 1/4 cup milk of choice
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (optional)
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen mango chunks
  • ice

Directions

Toss everything into a blender, spinach first.

Then blend. Yum.

12 responses

    • Isn’t it great? Such an easy way to get your greens. 🙂 You can’t really notice the kale either, but it is is harder to blend than spinach…if you have a good blender, or you don’t mind a chewier texture, this is probably a non-issue. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  1. it looks ahhhmazing! Once upon a time I hated green smoothies, but it’s time I gave it another go. My raw spinach consumption is almost a daily thing now anways. May as well add it to a smoothie!

    • Thanks! Give it a try and see if you like it now! I find the banana magically masks the spinach with its mellow unassuming sweetness. So whatever you do, add a banana, and you’ll probably like it. 🙂 So glad you stopped by!

    • Aw, you’re so sweet Audrey! Well you definitely deserve it – I love your blog!! 🙂 I totally want a vitamix-I’ve seen those things turn whole apples into juice in seconds! So when my poor little blender finally dies, my obsession with smoothies might make it a worthy investment! Thanks again, Audrey!

Leave a Reply

