Garlic Horseradish Parsnip Fries

First of all, a quick announcement — I changed my blog title from “Becca’s Kitchen” to “Becca’s Green Kitchen.” I decided the latter showed a little more about my blog than the former. Plus, my url was already beccasgreenkitchen.wordpress.com, so maybe the change would clear up some confusion. Sorry if it creates some confusion. 🙂

Now for the recipe! It’s a good one.

I keep seeing parsnip fries everywhere, and decide it was time to try one. I was skeptical at first, because parsnip taste a little like carrots and sweet isn’t something that sounds all that great in a french fry. I love it when I’m wrong, especially when I’m wrong about disliking a vegetable. 😉

Inspiration for this particular version was the jar of horseradish in my fridge begging to be used up. I served them with a little horseradish dijon mustard (Annie’s Organics brand), but they’d be great with ketchup or whatever you like. Actually this is the second batch, because my husband and I inhaled the entire first batch before I could take pictures. 🙂 Good sign, right?

Feel free to change around the amounts depending on what you like…for me, I like a LOT of garlic and not much horseradish heat.

Ingredients

  • 2 large parsnips
  • 4-5 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tbs olive oil
  • 1 tsp dried parsley
  • 1/2 tsp horseradish
  • 1 tsp course ground salt
  • fresh ground black pepper to taste

Directions

Preheat oven to 350F.

Chop the parsnips into fries.

In a bowl, toss the parsnips in all the other ingredients until evenly coated.

Bake until golden and a little crispy. Enjoy!

What’s your favorite variation of fries, potato or otherwise?

41 responses

  1. These look great! I’m such a French-fry-aholic, I’m always looking for a healthier fry! Will have to try this soon. (I don’t know if I’ve ever had parsnips before!) Thank you, Becca!

    • Thanks Erin! Butternut squash fries are brilliant! I have had sweet potato fries before and love them, but I don’t think I ever would have though to try b-nut squash! You’re always full of such great ideas. 🙂

  2. I’ve only ever included parsnips in my roasted winter veggies…I LOVE the idea of them as fries! Will definitely have to try this out!

    • Totally! They’re so good as fries. I actually never loved them roasted so I thought I’d give them one last chance before I decided I didn’t like them. 🙂 Success! Let me know how it goes if you do try them! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. These look delicious. Have never served parsnips as fries. I love beetroot ‘fries’ though, and sweet potato. Your blog looks great. Looking forward to a good peruse of it at work…

    • Thanks for stopping by! I’ve never had beetroot fries, but would love to try that. I do love sweet potato, and now parsnip fries! So good to have you, Saskia! Looking forward to trading lots of delicious ideas 🙂

  4. Yum. I love parsnips. Like people have mentioned I usually have parsnips with other vegetables roasted. But I have also have them mashed with carrots which is really nice. Swede and parsnip too. It is a favourite vegetable for me. I should have it more often. Thanks for the reminder.

  5. Pingback: 1 Min. Chocolate Chia Pudding | Becca's Green Kitchen

Leave a Reply

