Scrambled Tofu with Herbs and Cheese

Happy Friday everybody! Here’s a delicious weekend brunch recipe to try. Serve with pancakes, oatmeal, fresh fruit, etc. And a mimosa or cup of hot coffee. 🙂

I enjoyed my scrambled tofu breakfast burritos so much, that I wanted to make another version. So I went to my favorite cookbook — Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone, by Deborah Madison. Here is my own twist on her delicious scrambled tofu! Scrambled tofu is so tasty, easy, and cheap…plus I really dislike eggs and the free range organic eggs are too expensive for me buy regularly anyway. It might seem weird to pair scrambled tofu (a great vegan version of scrambled eggs) with cheese (non-vegan), but it was so good. You could always substitute Daiya cheese or other non-dairy cheese.

Ingredients

Adapted from Deborah Madison’s Scrambled Tofu, Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone

  • 1 package firm/extra firm tofu, drained and pressed
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp cooking oil
  • 1 tsp dried marjoram
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1 tsp dried parsley
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/4 cup mozzerella, feta, or goat cheese, or non-dairy cheese
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • dash of paprika
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

In a sauté pan over medium heat, saute the onion in oil until soft. Add the garlic and crumble in the tofu. When the tofu starts to brown add the herbs, turmeric, paprika, salt and pepper. When the tofu is golden and everything is evenly mixed, turn off the heat and add the cheese.

Stir so the cheese melts, adjust the seasonings if you like, and enjoy!

What’s your favorite weekend brunch?

12 responses

  1. Looks yummy! My favorite weekend brunch meal is a few ood pieces of toast..topped with avocado or leftover soft cheese from the night before 🙂 Perfection! I know it’s simple but I love it!

  2. Pingback: A good thing to do with TJ’s tofu « Things I love at Trader Joes

Leave a Reply

