1 Min. Chocolate Chia Pudding

Much like parsnip fries, chia pudding seems to be a new trend that I decided I must try! I love love love chia seeds, and usually put them into smoothies, oatmeal, or, my favorite, crackers. Since they don’t have (really) any flavor, have crazy thickening powers and a pretty impressive nutition profile, a chia dessert seems perfect. And one you don’t have to even remotely feel guilty about.

Plus, any recipe that takes less than 5 minutes, and only a couple ingredients is a winner in my book.

Have fun experimenting with different milks and different add-ins! I went with chocolate and coconut, my favorite flavor combination.

Ingredients

  • ~1 1/2 cup chocolate milk of your choice
  • 1/4 cup whole chia seed (ground may work too)
  • 2 tbs shredded coconut
  • 2 tbs unsweetened cocoa powder (if you use sweetened, just omit the sugar)
  • 2 tsp sugar (or to taste)
  • Chocolate shavings for garnish (optional)

Directions

Just combine the dry ingredients (chia, coconut, cocoa powder, and sugar) in a bowl. Add the chocolate milk, slowly, until it reaches your desired thickness.

How crazy are chia seeds?! Love it!

 

21 responses

    • Ooh, chia seeds are so fun to cook with! They don’t really have a flavor on their own, and they make great thickeners. So I add them to smoothies or overnight oats, or oatmeal. My favorite though is to make crackers out of them. I linked to a couple of my favorite chia seed recipes at the top of this post if you want to check it out! You could even just mix them in water, juice, or tea for a fun drink. Hope that helps! They have such impressive nutritional stats, you may just get hooked on them. 🙂

  1. This just looks amazing AND under 5 minutes?!! Incredible! I’m making this ASAP! I’m a huge chia seed fan and have been wanting to expand beyond the Chia Fresca drink and simply adding them to an existing dish and here it is! Thank you!!!

  2. Looks great!
    By the way, did you get my comment I posted at the beginning of this week, nominating you for an Illuminating Blogger Award? Just curious 🙂

    • Thanks!
      And no, somehow I missed that! I’m sorry, but thank you so much! That makes my day!! I’m actually traveling at the moment, but I’ll try to add the nomination to one of my prescheduled posts, or blog it as soon as I get back! Thanks so so much, and I love your blog too! Yay! 🙂

      • Glad I double checked 😉 If you need the link, to get the award stuff, you can just go to my Illuminating Blogger Award post. Have a great time traveling! 🙂

  3. These look great! I love recipes that the kids can make from scratch too – this one definitely fits the bill. I love chia seeds, and have just started adding them to many of my baked goods, incl. carrot cake and oatmeal slice. Thanks for another fab recipe.

  4. Thanks, Saskia! I love easy ideas too. 🙂 And you’re right – kids can totally make this one! My favorite way to eat chia seeds are in oatmeal but haven’t tried actually baking with them. Thanks for the idea! So glad you stopped by. 🙂

  5. I can only buy chia seeds online but haven’t tried it yet. Your chia chocolately dessert looks magnificent & ooh so tasty! Now, I must buy online,…no excuses anymore! 😉

    • Aw, youre so sweet. Yay, I’m glad I could be the motivation! Chia seeds store forever, so you’ll get your use out of them. I’m glad you like it! There’s so many fun things you can do with chia too…let me know what you come up with! 🙂

Leave a Reply

