Fennel & Basil Chickpea Salad

For some reason, I’ve never been a huge fan of bean salads. There’s no good reason for that, since beans are an inexpensive source of great protein (including lysine!) plus many other phytonutrients.

So I decided maybe I just needed to make one that was more….non-boring. I saw some great looking bean salads from some of your great blogs out there, so I was inspired to try my own.

I LOVE how this turned out!

The secret is in the fennel…

Ingredients

  • 2 cup cooked chickpeas (or 1 15-oz can)
  • 2/3 cup fresh basil, chopped
  • 1/2 cup onion, chopped
  • 1 small bulb fennel, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp cooking oil
  • 1 tbs olive oil
  • 1 tbs lemon juice
  •  1/4 tsp salt
  • black pepper to taste

Directions

Over medium high heat in a skillet, saute the fennel until just barely browned and add the onion. They should both be cooked, soft, and browned near the same time. When the fennel onion mixture is almost done, add the garlic. In a mixing bowl, combine the chickpeas, basil, olive oil, lemon juice, and salt/pepper. Add in the fennel, onion, and garlic when it’s done. Yum!

It made a lovely lunch stuffed into a whole wheat pita, with a kale cabbage salad and fresh strawberries. Enjoy!

10 responses

  1. bella, becca! 🙂 all that colour! i love fennel and want to play with it in a dish. i bet the strawberries complimented it all very well. did you make the garbanzo beans from scratch? it looks like it in the photo, but i wasn’t sure… i want to try doing that, and also try making hummus

    • Aw, thanks Audrey! I’m so happy with how it turned out. Yeah I do try to make beans from scratch! Just to save a little money. 🙂 I normally forget to soak them overnight though, but figured out that you can speed soak them – being the dry beans to a boil, then turn off the heat and let them sit for 45 min before cooking. I totally want to try hummus too! If you find a recipe you like, you should post. 🙂

    • Thanks Caroline! I’m so glad you like it. Fennel has such a nuanced flavor that it intimidates me sometimes as well! My all-time favorite way to eat kale is to toss it with avocado, lemon juice, olive oil, and salt/pepper. 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

