Blueberry, Flax, & Kale Superfood Smoothie

I’m not sure how I feel about the term “superfood.” I do understand what is meant — describing a food that offers one or more extraordinary nutritional attributes. And I do love how certain foods are just bursting in nutritional value, particularly the blueberry, kale, and flax used here! But I’m not really a fan of the fact that calling somethingย  a “superfood” infers that other foods are less important…when really, it’s important to eat a variety of different fruits, vegetables, proteins, grains, etc, because they all offer different nutrients.

Ah well, I’m getting a little nit-picky. ๐Ÿ˜‰ That being said, I did in fact title this recipe “superfood” and I do think these ingredients deserve it. Hope you enjoy this as much as I did! Such a perfect breakfast/snack for a June sunny day.

Ingredients

  • 3-4 cups fresh kale, stems removed (I used a mixture of kale and spinach)
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 cup almond milk (or other milk)
  • 2 tbs ground flaxseed
  • 1 cup frozen (or fresh) blueberries
  • Ice cubes

Directions

Add all ingredients to a blender, beginning with the kale and/or spinach.

Blend until smooth! Enjoy with a good book in the sunshine. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

6 responses

    • Ohmigoodness, you’re so sweet! My very next post will be about it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks so much! Your comments always make my day. Ha, and totally agree — anything that tells me to eat more blueberries, superpowers or not, is a plus in my book ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I hope you like it! You could always sneak blueberries into things like oatmeals, salads, etc until you warm up to them again. I love tricking myself into eating foods I’ve avoided, haha! Thanks for stopping by. Would love to hear your thoughts on this smoothie if you do try it!

Leave a Reply

