Provencal Toasted Nut Mix

Mmm, there are few things more wonderful than fresh herbs. Especially rosemary. This recipe is just another excuse for me to indulge my rosemary addiction. I love sweet nut mixes like cinnamon sugar, and spicy ones like cajun flavored…but this one is a nice savory alternative.

Ha, this is actually the 3rd batch or so…they kept magically disappearing before I got around to doing a photo shoot. Warning: they are addictive! 🙂

Ingredients

  • 1 cup mixed nuts of your choice (I used 1/3 cup each of almonds, walnuts, and cashews)
  • 1 tbs dried rosemary
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • course sea salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Directions

Preheat oven to 400F.

Combine the nuts, rosemary, oil, and salt/pepper and mix thoroughly. Spread onto a baking sheet and bake until browned, about 10-12 minutes (by my oven! You may want to keep an eye on yours).

They make a great party appetizer too!

What are your favorite nut mixes?

10 responses

  1. These flavors sound like such a great combo–must try this! I might double the recipe so I can try blending the oil with the rosemary in the blender 🙂

  2. Looks wonderful! And I too have a pretty healthy rosemary addiction and are always looking at new ways to indulge it as well!!

      • Potatoes are always standard go-to when it comes to rosemary (actually doing a post soon on that) and I also love rosemary sauteed with shallots — the smell alone is just incredible!

        • What a brilliant idea to saute rosemary with shallots! I’m definitely going to try that. Thanks! You’re right — potatoes with rosemary, sea salt, and olive oil are just amazing. Thanks for the ideas! I’ll watch for your rosemary potatoes post. 🙂

    • Fresh rosemary will be great! I actually wanted to use fresh originally but only had dried on hand at the time. 🙂 I think I’d use 3 tbs fresh chopped rosemary…or however much you like. Let me know how it goes! I’m so glad you like it. 🙂

  3. Yum! I adore toasted nuts, and love the idea of using rosemary (the one herb in my garden I can’t kill)! I usually make sweet nuts with honey and butter (naughty) but will definitely give these savory ones a try.

    • Haha, a little honey and butter never killed anyone. ;)That sounds great! I’m so jealous you have successfully grown rosemary! I, on the other hand, have successfully killed it. Ha! Thanks so much for your comment, Saskia! I’m glad you like the sound of this.

Leave a Reply

