Citrus Jicama Fruit Slaw with Avocado and Mint

Hello everyone! I am back after a wonderful, lengthy but whirlwind trip home to see family and friends. Hopefully, you didn’t notice my absence ;)…before I left I pre-scheduled posts to be automatically published while I was gone, and I did my best to reply to all your sweet comments! So bear with me as I am in catch-up mode and am looking forward to seeing what all you bloggers have been up to these past couple weeks. ALSO! Several of you have graciously nominated me for awards while I was gone, so stay tuned for my humble award nomination post, next up! Aw, shucks. πŸ™‚

Anyway, on to today’s recipe! A summery fruit salad seems appropriate now that June is rapidly disappearing and soon we will be celebrating July. It’s quick, easy, health, and delicious — all important attributes for a recipe. It can also be doubled, or tripled, if you have a summer potluck or picnic to attend. Thanks to the lemon juice, the avocado and jicama don’t brown, so leftovers are just as appetizing as fresh!

Don’t you just love summer? Also, don’t you just love avocados? They magically make anything that much more delicious.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 medium jicama, peeled and chopped
  • 1 grapefruit, peeled and chopped
  • 1 orange, peeled and chopped
  • 1 ripe avocado, peeled, pitted and chopped
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 2 tsp agave nectar or honey
  • 1/2 cup loosely packed fresh mint leaves, chopped
  • 2 tsp or so of lemon zest (optional)

Directions

Combine all ingredients except lemon juice and sweetener. Toss in the lemon juice and sweetener until evenly distributed.

Done. Enjoy!

Here’s another shot of those beautiful summer colors. You know, in case you didn’t see the one 3 seconds ago. πŸ˜‰ Some things are just too pretty to photograph once.

What’s your favorite fruit salad/slaw?

14 responses

    • Me too! Jicama tastes like something between an apple and a potato. They look kinda like potatoes so I just choose one that has no bruises/soft/moldy spots. The peel and outer 1/4 inch or so is super bitter, but after you chop that off the inside is sweet and juicy. They go well with Mexican-type foods too! I’ll head over shortly to see what I’ve been missing on Recimplicity. πŸ™‚

  1. I’m stuck in a sweltering conference room right now and would kill for a salad like that. πŸ˜‰ Had to google jicama, though… sounds very interesting, but I’m not sure I can get it in the Netherlands.

Leave a Reply

