Thai Peanut Cabbage Wraps with Tofu and Veggies

Happy Friday everyone! I’ve been looking forward to sharing these with you. Based loosely on my chard veggie wraps, these little wraps are really filling (thanks to the tofu) and versatile (you can use any veggies you have on hand).

I can’t take any credit for the sauce (the best part!). It’s from my favorite cookbook, Deborah Madison’s Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone. That book is definitely a great investment if you haven’t discovered it already.

I made the sauce thin, like a dip. You could also use less water and make it thicker, like a spread, and slather it inside

Ingredients

  • 1 block extra firm tofu, drained
  • 2 tsp cooking oil
  • several whole cabbage leaves (I used red cabbage, but I bet any type would do)
  • Miscellaneous chopped veggies (I used bean sprouts, kale, iceberg lettuce, and carrots)

Peanut Sauce (adapted slightly from Deborah Madison’s “Quick Peanut Sauce”, Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone)

 

  • 3 Tbsp peanut butter (unsweetened)
  • 2 Tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp chopped cilantro
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp brown sugar or agave nectar
  • 1/4 cup water (or a little less)
  • pinch of red pepper flakes

Directions

Chop the tofu. Saute in a saute pan with the oil until golden.

Meanwhile, whisk all the sauce ingredients except the water together. Add the water little by little until you reach your desired consistency.

Chop the veggies into a julienne-style cut. Slice the cabbage leaves lengthwise, forming strips. The tofu should be done by now too.

On a cabbage leaf strip, line up some veggies and tofu slices.

Roll it up!

Dip into that sauce. YUM!

20 responses

  1. These are so beautiful – the colours and freshness just jump out at you. I’ve never thought about using raw cabbage to wrap; love it when my perceptions are altered – thanks again!

    • Thanks! I’m with you there — I always try to buy the smallest cabbage I can find. It’s great with kale in salads and stir-fries too. I’m so glad you like this! Thanks for stopping by. It’s great to have you! 🙂

  2. Pingback: 12 Dinner Recipes – 30 Min or Less | Becca's Green Kitchen

Leave a Reply

