Basil Lemonade “Slushy”

Happy Friday!

Here is a quick, end-of-summer refresher to kick off your weekend. Maybe it’s just me, but basil seems to be all the rage right now…popping up in everything from ice cream to smoothies and cocktails. Since lemon and basil are such a killer combination for savory dishes, I had to try it sweetened and summer-d up! Loved how it turned out.


Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup lemon juice
  • 14 ice cubes
  • sweetener of choice (I used 1/4 cup agave nectar…use more/less to taste. How tart do you like it?)
  • 3 large leaves (or 5 sm/md leaves) of fresh basil
  • Water (just a splash)

Directions

In a blender, add the lemon juice and ice cubes. Add a little water as necessary to keep the ice crushing smoothly.

Add the basil and sweetener…

and blend until smooth.

Best enjoyed with a good book in the sun.

6 responses

    • Hey! Sorry for the delay in reply. Sadly I am pretty technologically challenged, so I don’t really have a cool trick. I just created a page, listed the titles of recipes, uploaded a photo, and made the titles a hyperlink to the recipe. I don’t know if there is an easier way but if I’ll find one, I’ll let you know! I am really loving your blog by the way! I’m glad to have found you. πŸ™‚ Those espresso brownies have been calling my name…

Leave a Reply

