5 Min Lunch: Simple White Bean Salad with Artichokes and Parsley

I hope everyone had a great Labor Day weekend! Mine was wonderful, too. I figured I’d publish a quick ‘n’ easy recipe this morning because, if you are anything like me, cooking as you get back into the work week feels like way too much work.

But first, look what I got for FREE from Sur La Table! These little beauties were already marked down steeply ($15 $10 $8 $5) and combined with an awesome coupon I had, I walked out feeling pretty proud of my little find. I had to picture them here of course. After all, what good are beautiful ceramic measuring spoons if not to look at them? 😉 My favorite part – the pattern is called “Paris Poodle!”

Speaking of my cheapskate ways – I am trying to rekindle my love of beans. You see, in college, beans pretty much comprised 80% of my diet. They were about all my dirt-broke-college-student budget could afford! So now I’m still a little burned out on beans, but am finding ideas that are exciting enough to stave off bean boredom.

This recipe did just that! In my sweet husband’s words, upon finishing: “My only regret is that I can’t eat them all over again.” Good sign. 🙂

Ingredients

Serves 2

  • 1 15-oz can white beans, or 1.5-2 cups cooked
  • 1-2 tbs red onion, diced
  • optional: 1 clove garlic, minced or put through a press
  • 1 tbs extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbs red wine vinegar (and/or lemon juice)
  • 2-3 tbs fresh parsley
  • 5-6 pieces marinated artichoke hearts (I used 1/2 small jar of Cara Mia brand)
  • Salt and plenty of freshly milled black pepper to taste

Directions

Just mix everything up! Adjust seasonings to taste.

I just realized this is really just a recipe for white bean artichoke dip, but not run through a processor. Ha! Enjoy!

7 responses

  1. Pingback: 12 Dinner Recipes – 30 Min or Less | Becca's Green Kitchen

  2. Great-looking recipe. I’m deep into white navy beans so I’m definitely going to do this. By the way, I also have a bean bake blog that might interest you. I find that the sweets are more popular than the savouries, and that’s how I feel about them too. Anyway, I almost always have one in the fridge and often eat some for breakfast or lunch or snacks…they’re a good and low calorie way to get protein and carbs. It’s at
    http://beanbakeblog.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

