3 Minute Pumpkin Spice Fudge

Oh boy am I excited to share this one with you! I am fairly obsessed with all things pumpkin, and with Mexican chocolate, so this seemed like a match made in heaven. Could it get any better than a fudge recipe with less than 5 ingredients, less than 5 minutes to prepare, healthy (well, at least healthier than other fudges), and free of butter/cream/dairy, added sugar, and artificial ingredients?

Some exciting serving ideas:

  • Pumpkin Spice Fudge Frosting: increase the pumpkin puree, decrease the chocolate chips, and add a little liquid sweetener. Perfect with a vanilla spice cake!
  • Pumpkin Spice Fudge Pie: Double or tripe the recipe and use it to fill a pie crust. Top with whipped cream of course!
  • Pumpkin Spice Fudgepops: Fill popsicle molds with this recipe and freeze

Ingredients

Makes about 12 1-cubic inch pieces

  • 1 cup pumpkin puree (canned or homemade)
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips, melted (see note below)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon (to taste) and a dash of nutmeg (can substitute pumpkin pie seasoning)
  • optional topping: coconut, chopped nuts, extra cinnamon, or mini chocolate chips.

Directions

Melt the chocolate chips. [Note: It’s best to use a double boiler on a stovetop, but I usually use the microwave, which works fine as long as you’re very careful not to scorch the chocolate. My method: Heat the chips for 1 minute on high. Stir. Heat at 20 second intervals, stirring between each. After the 3rd or4th interval, the chips will be entirely melted after you stir.]

In a food processor, combine pumpkin, melted chocolate, spices, and cocoa powder. Process until smooth.

Pour into a glass dish or onto wax paper, and shape as you’d prefer. Sprinkle on any toppings you’d like.

You can enjoy it immediately, or refrigerate for a while (30 minutes or more) to allow it to firm up a bit.

I hope you like this! It turned out way better than I would have guessed. Also note, you can make a half or quarter recipe for just enough for 1 😉

32 responses

      • Actually, because the (uncooked) pumpkin was frozen, when I cooked it last night there was a lot of liquid, which I drained off (& used to cook noodles). I then stirred in the broken cubes of chocolate bar, as they melted easily in the hot pumpkin & didn’t need a separate step & then the cocoa & spices.

        It’s blended to make a soft, silky mousse consistency, which is really nice – I licked the sppon when I cleaned the blender & have had a spoonful of it chilled so far – lovely.

        I’m saving the rest for a friend & me to share this evening. Next time I might try to squeeze out more liquid, to try & get a fudge-like consistency.

        Thanks again for the recipe.

        Jeanette

        • Just to let you know the adaptation I tried yesterday: as my pal didn’t like the dry cocoa kick when he tried the batch I made (more for me :)), I omitted the cocoa & added a good amount of halva to thicken when set & give flavour.

          The mousse mixture was smoothed into a bowl & topped with dessicated (shredded) coconut. Lovely now chilled & set – it reminds me of chocolate marshmallow snowballs (http://www.tunnock.co.uk/products/snowballs.aspx – not had them for years, as they aren’t even veggie, let alone vegan).

          Jeanette

Leave a Reply

