Carob, Cranberry, and Coconut Spelt Pancakes

Just in case you weren’t excited that it’s friday, I thought I’d give you something else to look forward to about this weekend…the most amazing pancakes!

 

I usually make pancakes with spelt flour because I love the fluffy nutty texture, and the coconut made these so moist and buttery. I think carob is amazing in it’s own right, and is not an ersatz chocolate. 🙂 You could, I think, substitute cocoa powder for carob in this recipe, but you might need to add a sweetener because cocoa is more bitter than carob.

Ingredients

Serves 4, or a hungry 2 🙂

  • 1 cup spelt flour
  • 1/4 cup carob powder
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • pinch sea salt
  • 1 can coconut milk (light or full-fat will work)
  • 1 tbs coconut oil + extra for cooking
  • 2/3 cup dried sweetened cranberries

Directions

Mix the dry ingredients well. Add the liquid ingredients and mix thoroughly. In a skillet over medium-high heat, melt a little coconut oil and then drop heaping tablespoonfuls of the pancake batter. After a couple minutes, when the cakes are bubbly on the surface and browned around the edges, flip with a spatula and cook another couple minutes. Repeat for the whole batch.

Serve with a smudge of coconut oil or butter and pure maple syrup. And coffee, of course. 🙂

2 responses

    • I do love spelt!! I much prefer it to wheat. I love carob too!! You know, I went through a phase in high school where chocolate made me sick and that’s when I started loving carob…now I can handle chocolate just fine and I love them both!! I’m so glad you like this one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

