Amazing Black Bean and Quinoa Enchiladas

DSC_0312

These turned out good. My husband couldn’t stop talking about them. I started out following a recipe from a cookbook, but after starting I realized I didn’t have almost any of the ingredients the recipe called for. So I took things into my own hands.

DSC_0315

Oh man, the results were tasty. And, perhaps my favorite part is – they are this delicious without the cheese!

DSC_0314

Ingredients

Sauce

  • 2 tbsp oil of choice
  • 2 tbsp flour (I used oat flour)
  • 2 tbsp chili powder
  • 2 cups water
  • 1/4 cup tomato paste
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp salt

Enchiladas

  • 6-7 small corn tortillas
  • 2 cups black beans
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • 2 tbs diced red onion
  • 2/3 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1 medium carrot, finely shredded
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1 tbsp lime juice
  • 1/4 cup diced red pepper (optional)
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1/2 heaping tsp salt


Preheat the oven to 350F.

In a small saucepan over medium heat, combine the flour, oil, and chili powder. Whisk together and let it bubble for a minute or 2. Whisk in the water, and add the rest of the sauce ingredients. Let the mixture come to a gentle simmer (it will thicken at this point) and then turn off the heat.

In a mixing bowl, combine all filling ingredients (except the tortillas) and mix well. Adjust the seasoning to taste.

Fill each tortilla with filling, fold the tortilla, and place it seam side down in a greased casserole dish. Once all the filling has been used up, pour the sauce over the enchiladas. Bake until the sauce is bubbly and browned around the edges, around 30 minutes. Top with any toppings you like.

DSC_0313

6 responses

  1. I’ll definitely try this. Quinoa is healthy and delicious. I find myself using it a lot more.

    I also love enchiladas. Enchiladas are a great way to use leftovers too. A lot of vegetables taste great wrapped in a tortilla and baked in a great sauce!

  2. Just made this two nights ago, with green pepper and no avocado, and have been enjoying the leftovers for lunch over the past two days. Now they’re all gone, and I wish I had more left! VERY delicious recipe! I am particularly fond of enchilada sauce, and had no idea how easy it is to make. It tasted like a Mexican restaurant, and I suspect it is full of better ingredients! Thank you for sharing this!

    • Yay, your comments make me so happy! I’m SO glad you like it. Isn’t it sooo good?! I was really surprised enchilada sauce was so easy (and cheap) to make too! Plus, you can control how spicy it is. 🙂 Thanks so much for letting me know how it went for you. We certainly love it around here! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

