What To Do with Leftover Oatmeal

This was the scene in my  kitchen the other morning.

DSC_0311

I’d made carrot cake oatmeal, and maybe got a little overzealous as I was grating carrot, or perhaps overestimated our appetite that morning, but I could not bring myself to throw away an entire serving of oatmeal.

So, here’s what you do if you ever find yourself in this situation: Make it into oatmeal bars. Or oatmeal cookies, like I did.

DSC_0315

It’s so simple: just add whatever you like to your leftover oatmeal (like nuts or dried fruit if you haven’t already), shape it into cookies, bars, etc, and bake it at 350 F until firm (time will depend on the shape. My cookies took about 15 minutes). Done.

DSC_0312_2

DSC_0314

Leave a Reply

