Easy Charred Cherry Tomato Jam

Homemade. Tomato. Jam. Amazing.

DSC_0350

If your garden tomatoes have gone crazy this year, this is the recipe to the rescue. I do not have that problem.

DSC_0349_2

DSC_0335

I have 3 little tomato plants which started fighting for their life when I inherited them (d’oh!) and the few cherry tomatoes they have yielded mysteriously disappear before I can “harvest” them. It appears I have a tomato thief living in my apartment complex. Sigh.

DSC_0347_2

But anyway, this is a fantastic use for your summer crop of tomatoes. Sweet-savory, gourmet, versatile and so tasty – try it with your favorite crackers and goat cheese, smeared on cornbread or toast with avocado, in a sandwich with sprouts and white bean spread, etc…

I used cherry tomatoes because I love their flavor. But I suspect any type of tomato can work well.

DSC_0334

Ingredients

  • About 3 cups chopped cherry tomatoes, 20 oz (I used yellow and red varieties)
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/3 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • optional: 1 tbsp chopped fresh basil (or other herb)

Directions

In a saucepan over medium-low heat, add the tomatoes, oil, salt, and maple. Cover and let it simmer for about 30 minutes, until the tomatoes are “popped,” mushy, and slightly blackened. Transfer the mixture to a food processor and add the fresh basil, if using. Pulse a few times until the herbs are well incorporated and the jam reaches a smooth but chunky consistency. Taste and adjust the sweeteness/saltiness according to taste. Enjoy!

DSC_0336

DSC_0339_2

DSC_0341

DSC_0343_2

DSC_0344

Would love to hear any uses you find for this!

DSC_0349

4 responses

Leave a comment