Antioxidant Cherry Berry Smoothie

Image

Another green smoothie for you! What’s exciting about this one is that it is banana-free. Don’t get me wrong…I have nothing against bananas. In fact they are a staple in my kitchen. But I love this smoothie because it’s sweetened only with the most nutrient-dense, high-fiber, low(ish) sugar fruits. (No offense, bananas. I still love you and your lower fiber, higher starch attributes). Enjoy this nutritious start to your day!

Image

Ingredients

  • 2 handfuls spinach or chard (about 2 cups)
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen pitted cherries
  • 1/2 cup fresh or frozen blueberries
  • 1 cup milk of choice (I use unsweetened almond milk)
  • 1 tbsp chia seed (optional)
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (probably optional, but if you omit this, you may need to add more fruit to keep the spinach from overpowering the flavors)

Directions

Place all ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth.

Leave a comment